Our Curriculum

As of the 1 September 2012 the revised Statutory Framework was put in to force. The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage outlines the learning and development, assessment and safeguarding and welfare requirements that all early years providers on the Early Years Register must meet to ensure children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe.

The statutory framework of the EYFS was introduced through the Childcare Act 2006. Children are born ready, able and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people, and in the world around them. Development is not an automatic process, however. It depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments.

The EYFS contains of four themes which underpin all the guidance. The Development Matters shows how these themes, and the principles that inform them, work together for children in the EYFS. They are:-

Theme – A Unique Child

Principle – Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Practice – Practitioners

  • Understand and observe each child’s development and learning, assess progress, plan for next steps.
  • Support babies and children to develop a positive sense of their own identity and culture.
  • Identify any need for additional support.
  • Keep children safe.
  • Value and respect all children and families equally.

Theme – Positive Relationships

Principle – Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.

Practice – Positive relationships are

  • Warm and loving, and foster a sense of belonging.
  • Sensitive and responsive to the child’s needs, feelings and interests.
  • Supportive of the child’s own efforts and independence.
  • Consistent in setting clear boundaries.
  • Stimulating.
  • Built on keyperson relationships in early years settings.

Theme – Enabling Environments

Principle – Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents and carers.

Practice – Enabling Environments

  • Value all people.
  • Value learning.

They offer –

  • Stimulating resources, relevant to all children’s cultures and communities.
  • Rich learning opportunities through play and playful teaching.
  • Support for children to take risks and explore.

Theme – Learning and Development

Principles – Children develop and learn in different ways. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision, including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

Practitioners teach children by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development.

Practice – They foster the characteristics of effective early learning

  • Playing and exploring.
  • Active learning.
  • Creative and critical thinking.

The Learning and development requirements of the EYFS framework include the Early Learning Goals, the educational programme and the assessment arrangements leading to the Foundation Stage Profile. The EYFS is made up of seven areas of learning and development. For each area the guidance sets out early learning goals which state what is expected that each child will know and be able to do by the end of their reception year. For each goal the guidance describes the stages through which children are likely to pass as they move to the achievement of the goal. Clapham preschool uses this information to help trace each child’s progress and enable us to provide the right activities to help them progress further and achieve. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. The early learning goals are divided into three prime areas and four specific areas.

The Prime Areas

Communication and Language, Physical Development, Personal, Social and Emotional Development.

Find Out More

Our Approaches

Learning through Play, Assessment and Records of Achievement.

Read More

Curriculum In The Early Years

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets standards for learning and development and care of children from birth to 5 years old.

More Info

Contact Clapham Preschool